Bacon Mysteries Boxed Set

Books 1-3

About the Book

Three award-winning historical mystery novels in one convenient package, plus a bonus short story!

Francis Bacon reluctantly puts down his books to solve crimes in Elizabethan London, aided by Thomas Clarady, a privateer’s son who will do anything to climb into the ranks of the gentry — or up to a lady’s bedchamber.

Book 1: Murder by Misrule
Francis Bacon must catch a killer to regain Queen Elizabeth’s favor. He recruits dashing Thomas Clarady to chase witnesses from Whitehall to the London streets, where everyone has something up his pinked and padded sleeve.

Book 2: Death by Disputation
Thomas Clarady risks his life, his chastity, and his very soul to catch a Puritan seditioner at Cambridge with Francis Bacon as his exacting spymaster.

Book 3: The Widows Guild
London, 1588: Someone is turning Catholics into widows, masking the crimes under armada fever. Francis Bacon is charged with the investigation by a widows’ guild led by his formidable aunt. He must untangle multiple crimes driven by patriotism, greed, lunacy — or all three.

Bonus short story: Mustard on Velvet
Agnes Merrythought, laundress for Gray’s Inn, has to cope with two perplexing problems in one busy morning.

Buy the Book

  • Buy on Apple Books
  • Buy for Kindle
  • Buy for Nook
  • Buy on Google Play
  • Buy on Kobo

Awards & Honors

The Details

Published: May 1, 2016
Publisher: Anna Castle
Formats: Ebook
Genres & Tropes
Historical Mystery, Elizabethan Mystery

Cover design by Jennifer Quinlan of Historical Editorial [website]
Editing by Jennifer Quinlan of Historical Editorial [website]